Shallow Water

Click on each song title for lyrics and song notes.

Shallow Water, Tom Kimmel01 Softly and Tenderly
02 Standing Still
03 You Did That For Me
04 Abide With Me
05 I Can’t Stand Up Alone
06 The Lord’s Prayer/Collect For Purity
07 See Myself In You
08 It Is Well With My Soul
09 Amazing Grace
10 One Heart
11 Shallow Water
12 Softly and Tenderly (Reprise)
13 Just As I Am/Why Me Lord (Instrumental Medley)

This album was such a joy to make. Most of my parts were recorded at the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts in Amherst, Virginia, where I’d been awarded a fellowship. It was my second stay at the VCCA, and this time around I’d decided to record rather than write, my goal being to record as many guitar and vocal tracks as I could toward a new album of spirituals.

Once I was there, away from cell phone and computer and surrounded by sculptors, novelists, poets and painters, I fell into the work as never before. I’d brought some recording gear and a stack of songs, not sure which ones to select. I had lots of thoughts about message and theology–things I wanted to emphasize or avoid–and of course I felt it was essential that the songs ring true. Ultimately, I decided simply to record the ones that made me cry the most!


Comments are closed.